Breaking News: Next Racing Event next Saturday Night Sept 22nd Run for the Back Gate Night 


Weisser, Anderson, Parga, Deford Take The Checker Flag At Spoon

IMG 9682 copy

A big field of cars in both the Zane’s Auto Service UMP Modifieds and the Perkins Seed House UMP Pro Late Models combined to put on an outstanding show Saturday night on “Canton Night” at Spoon River Speedway.

In the 26-car UMP Modified field, Allen Weisser took the lead just past the midway point of the 20-lap feature and drove to victory on a fast track, in front of Canton native and current Joe Gibbs racing employee Eric Phillips, who was in town for the weekend and in Weisser’s pit for the evening. But for the first half of the race, it looked like Weisser and the rest of the star-studded field was just racing for second behind Peoria’s Erik Bruce, but shortly past midway a slight bobble coming out of turn four by the leader allowed several cars to get by, led by Weisser running on the topside of the track.


Canton Night This Saturday Night June 6th

Spoon River will host Canton Night this Saturday Night June 6th. Any Canton resident that produces a current Canton address and photo ID on it will get in for $6 this Saturday Night.

After two weeks of rain outs the driver's are itching to get back out to the High Banks of the Spoon for some more great racing action. On hand will be the Zane Automotive Service UMP Modifieds, the Perkins Seed House UMP Pro L/M's, the Farmington Locker UMP Pro Modifieds, the Fulton Farm Service UMP Hornets and the Spoon 6-Shooters.

Hot Laps 6:15 followed by Pro L/M and Modified Time Trials with racing to begin around 7

Two Day Special This Memorial Day Weekend

Spoon River Speedway will offer two great nights of racing this Saturday and Sunday Nights, May 23rd and 24th.

First up on Saturday Night May 23rd it will be the fourth annual Randy Test Memorial featuring the Zane Automotive Service UMP Modifieds running for $1000 to Win. The Farmington Locker UMP Pro Modifieds will be running for $325 to Win. Also on hand will be the Perkins Seed House UMP Pro L/M's, the Fulton Farm Service UMP Hornets and the Spoon 6-Shooters.


Weisser Rides The Rail To Modified Victory

11160013 855242997876012 5397310185424171879 o

Veteran UMP Modified hot shoe Butch Weisser is known at Spoon River Speedway for his mastery of driving the low line on a dry slick track, but on a night when the high side was the best side, the elder Weisser schooled the field, moving up to the top side and becoming “Butch On The Berm” for a 20-lap feature win at The Spoon.

“I knew the top was going to be good,”, said Weisser in the Perkins Seed House Victory Lane, “this car works well on both the top or bottom, tonight was just a night we had to take it to the top.”

Take it to the top he did for almost all of the 20-lap event, moving down to protect his lead on only a couple of occasions, the last one after Mike Chasteen, Jr., flying after near disaster early in the race, was able to show Weisser his nose on the inside coming out of turn two late in the race. Weisser moved low to protect in turn 3, the drivers gave each other room to race, and Weisser was able to hold off the hard-charging Chasteen.


Racing Returns to the Spoon this Saturday Night May 2nd

 This Saturday Night May 2nd racing action will return to the high banks of the Spoon River Speedway. Invading the Spoon for the first time will be the IMRA Midgets. These lightning fast hot rods will be in action dueling side by side in a 25 lap feature event. All of our regular classes will also be competing as well. At intermission we will have the first of two Garden Lawn Mower races of the year featuring Stock and outlaw mowers.

Pit Gate opens at 4:30. Grandstands open at 5.

Hot Laps 6:15 followed by Pro L/m and Modifieds TT

Racing to begin around 7

General Admission $15 with Kids 10 and Under FREE

Driver's Pit Pass $35 with Crew Pit Pass being $30

Hope to see everyone this Saturday Night May 2nd for some more 3 and 4 wide racing on the High Banks of the Spoooon!

2015 Season Off To A Great Start At Spoon River Speedway

Lynn Feature 418

Perfect weather, a silky smooth, fast track, the largest Opening Night crowd in years and a thrilling UMP Modified Feature made for a tremendous start to the 2015 racing season at Spoon River Speedway this past Saturda y night.

With temperatures hovering in the 70’s for most of the evening, a comfortable crowd was treated to great feature racing throughout the night, highlighted by a green-to-checker feature in the Zane’s Auto Service Modified Division, eventually won by Mason City’s Brian Lynn in his Dodge-powered hot rod.


Opening Night Saturday Night April 18th

This Saturday Night April 18th will be Spoon River Speedway's 32nd Opening Night. With the great weather forecast for the weekend we are looking for a spectacular night of racing. We are excited about all our divisions this year. The UMP Modifieds will be the show case class again in 2015 with some of the Best Driver's in the Midwest doing Battle Saturday Nights on the High Banks of the Spoon.

Admission Prices, Pit Prices and times are the same as in 2014 on Regular racing events

General Admission $12.  Kids 10 and Under are FREE

Driver Pit Pass $35.   Crew Pit Pass $30

Pits will open at 4 this Saturday with Grandstands opening at 5 

End of Draw 6. Hot Laps 6:15. Pro L/M and Modified TT at 6:30

Racing to start around 7

Double Track points will be awarded in all classes this Saturday Night. We will also be giving away a $25 Gas card at intermission a long with glow bracelets for the kids.

Hope to see everyone this Saturday Night April 18th at the Spoooon!

PlayDay slated for this Sunday April 12th

Spoons playday is scheduled for this Sunday April 12th from 12 to 4. Pit gate will open at 11. All Pit Passes will be $25 with FREE Grandstand admission. There will be a limited menu at the main concession stand.

Thanks You: Brad Denney

Joseph Putnam of Slingin Dirt with Security Photo named the New Official Photographer at Spoon River Speedway

10968068 10203229569332136 756169352 n1

Spoon River Speedway is Proud to Announce that Joseph Putnam (Slingin Dirt Security Photo) will be the Official Photographer for SRS starting in 2015. We are very excited to have Joe come on board this season. Joe takes some great action shots and has a keen eye to catch Driver's and Pit crews in action. You can go to his Facebook page and check out his work. I'm sure Joe will be going around introducing himself and letting you know what he has planned for pictures and such in the up coming season. Welcome to the SRS Family Joe!!

Race season will be here before we know it. Play Day is scheduled for April 12th with the Season Opener slated for April 18th.

2014 Spoon Banquet To Be Held At VFW

For those of you who lost or didn't receive the Banquet Information sheet here it is: SRS 2014 Banquet will be held on November 15th at the VFW in Canton. It will be a Buffet Dinner of Roast Beef, Fried Chicken, Mashed Potato's, Brown and White Gravy, Green Beans, Corn, Dessert, Water and Tea. Buffet will begin at 6:00pm. Awards to begin around 7. DJ afterwards There will be over 125 Awards handed... out this year a long with my famous grab bags and other gifts. Price per person attending will be $20. Must have competed in 70% of races held at Spoon to be eligible for Awards and Point Fund. Must Attend Banquet to receive Awards. RSVP's MUST BE RECEIVED BEFORE OCTOBER 25TH Please RSVP list of names attending and Money to: Brad Denney 1136 S. 5th Ave Canton, ILL 61520
Thanks Brad
Bauman220 BoF footer CD Country footer
FS footer Fulton County Farm Bureau footer ISBSpoon SecurityPhotoLogo
Kitchen Cooked footer NAPA Footer perkinsseedhousesponsor
Saint Creations footer StoneEvents220 ToplineAutoParts footer  TC footerstrokeshadow