Breaking News: We are now CLOSED for the season. Watch our FaceBook page and website for info on the 2023 season and this years Banquet

Cooler size 10x14x12 Tall (NO Exceptions) $10 everytime thru gate. NO Food or Glass

NO Large Purses, Bags or Backpacks Allowed | No Dogs Allowed in Grandstand Area

Pouches $20 I  Chips $20

Champions Crowned At Spoon River Speedway's 33rd Awards Ceremony

spoon champions

On Saturday Night Spoon River Speedway held its 33rd annual awards ceremony at the VFW in Canton, honoring the division point champions, driver vote awards, management awards, fan vote awards and the driver’s and fan’s vote for Driver of the Year. Over 140 awards were handed out Saturday Night along with many door prizes, six SRS hoodies, a 2017 Season Pass, Transponder, charger and pouch and four $200 give aways for the over 165 drivers and fans in attendance after they had there meal of tender roast beef and mouth watering fried chicken with all the fixing. Brad Denney (Promoter of Spoon River Speedway) was the MC with his sister Julie handing out the awards. Denney began by thanking all the drivers and fans and all the workers at the track.


He thanked all the 2016 division sponsors, Perkins Seed House, Zane’s Automotive Service, Fulton County Farm Service, NuTech Seed and Farmington Locker. He also thanked Monical’s Pizza, Canton Auto Parts (NAPA), Fulton County Farm Bureau, HyVee, Topline, Town and Country Insurance, Bank of Farmington, Kitchen Cooked Inc, Neidig Trucking and Excavation. The track saw two National Champions crowned, UMP Pro Late Model Driver Austin May and IMRA/USAC Speed 2 Midget Driver Jeff Mallonee. Denney also announced that all divisions will return in 2017 with a possible new division TBA. The 2017 schedule is due out in January.

The ceremony started out with the top ten in all divisions receiving a plaque with their hot rods picture on it. The top three in the E-Mods, Midgets, Late Model and Modified classes received point fund money sponsored by the Denney’s. This was a surprise because at the beginning of the season it was announced there wouldn’t be any point fund. The Drivers were surprised and very thankful by this move by the Denney’s. All division Champions drew for a Spoon River Speedway hoodie for a lucky driver or fan. Next up was a special award which was given to Brad’s father, Morey Denney (Former Promoter of SRS) for Track Packer of the Year.

The Driver Vote awards went as followed:                                                                                       Most Helpful Pit Crew:  E-Mods- Kevin Morrow, Midgets- Mitchel Davis, Modifieds- Zane Oedewaldt and Pro L/M- Nick Bauman

Most Helpful Driver: HO/Shooters- Mark Williams, E-Mods- Mark Anderson, Midget- Andy Baugh, Modifieds- Allen Weisser and Pro L/M- Austin May

Most Improved Driver: HO/Shooter- Ellie Vogel, E-Mods- Lacey Goodin, Midget- Jacob Sollenberger, Modifieds- Zac Oedewaldt and Pro L/M- Maverick Piller

Best Appearing Car: E-Mods- Mark/Trent Ross, Midgets- Chase McDermand, Modifieds- Josh Allen and Pro L/M- Melissa Hansmeyer

Best Personality: HO/Shooters- Michael Fromm, E-Mods- Matt Dobey, Midgets- Jeff Mallonee, Modifieds- Derrick Carlson and Pro L/M Jacob Denney

Next up was the Fan’s Vote Awards. All these driver’s will draw a chip for some fan or driver to come up front and pick a prize bag from the table.

Fan’s Vote for Best Appearing Car: HO/Shooters- Mark Williams Sr, E-Mods- Lacey Goodin, Midgets- Mitchel Davis, Modifieds- Kyle Steel and Pro L/M- Austin May

Fan’s Vote for Favorite Driver:   HO/Shooters- Ellie Vogel, E-Mods- Matt Dobey, Midgets- Jeff Mallonee, Modifieds- Derrick Carlson and Pro L/M- Bill Kettering Jr

Now it was time for the Management Awards. Each one of these winners will also draw a chip for more prize bag give aways.

Loyalty Award: HO/Shooters- Mark Williams Sr, E-Mods- Derrick Tassart, Midgets- Jeff Mallonee, Modifieds- Zac Oedewaldt and Pro L/M- Bill Kettering Jr

Hang in There Award: E-Mods- Ray Rivers, Midgets- Todd Baker, Modifieds- Steve Thievgt, and Pro L/M- Gary Graham

Roll Over Award: Ellie Vogel, Andy Baugh and Steve Thievagt

Passing Points Awards were handed out to the top 10 in all classes except HO/Shooters:

E-Mod Champ- Kevin Morrow, Midget Champ- Brent Burrows, Modified Champ- Josh Allen and Pro L/M Champ- Maverick Piller. All these driver’s received $50 in gas cards sponsored by BP with all second place finishers receiving $25 in gas cards

Rookies of the Year: Midgets- Brent Burrows, Modifieds- Josh Allen and Pro L/M- Austin May

Good Sportsmanship: HO/Shooters- Ellie Vogel, E-Mods- Kyle Girard, Midgets- Dillion Morley, Modifieds- Wiley Holt and Pro L/M- Melissa Hansmeyer

Divisional Driver of the Year:   Hornets- Michael Fromm who also drew for a $200 giveaway, 6-Shooters- Mark Williams Sr who also drew for a $200 giveaway, E-Mods- Mark Anderson who also drew for a transponder giveaway, Midgets- Brent Burrows who also drew for a $200 giveaway, Modifieds- Josh Allen who also drew for a $200 giveaway and Pro L/M- Austin May who drew for the 2017 Season Pass.


Finally it was time for the Driver of the Year Award which is voted on by the Driver’s and Fan’s. Over 290 drivers raced at Spoon on a regular race night. This doesn’t include special events. Out of these driver’s the top 10 were asked to come up on stage as voted on by the driver’s and fan’s. The count down began, in tenth was Kevin Morrow, ninth was Mitchel Davis, eighth was Matt Dobey, seventh was Brent Burrows and in sixth was Zac Oedewaldt. Besides the honor of being in the top ten all these drivers received $10. Now we were down to the top five, in fifth and receiving $15 was Bill Kettering Jr, in fourth receiving $25 was Derrick Carlson, In third receiving $50 was Austin May. Now we were down to the final two driver’s which received the most votes for Driver of the Year. Runner up and receiving $75 is Josh Allen and your 2017 Spoon River Speedway Driver and Fan Vote for Driver of the Year is Nick Bauman. Nick Also received a nice 4 foot trophy and $100. Nick then drew a chip for a 40” Vizio with Patrick Sheridan taking home the annual TV giveaway.

This concluded the awards ceremony. Another successful season in the books at the Spoon. Bigger and better things are in the making for 2017. Stay tuned to the Spoon website and Spoon’s Facebook page for more updates on the upcoming season.

We want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year. April will be here before we know it. VROOM VROOM





941Ad300250NB Bauman220 CantonVFW300250 CountyLineBar300250NB
Crawfords300250NB DenneyFarms300250NB FS footer
Fulton County Farm Bureau footer ISBSpoon SecurityPhotoLogo NAPA Footer
May300250NB perkinsseedhousesponsor Saint Creations footer
Spoonies300250 TC footerstrokeshadow Zanes220x220